The Stations of the Cross

crux2a.jpg (32415 bytes)

John316.gif (62130 bytes)


Tradition has it that when Our Lady was living in Jerusalem, she had never failed, ever since Our Lord's death, to follow His path to Calvary with tears of compassion. She had paced out and measured all the distances between the Stations of that Via Crucis, and her love for her Son made her unable to live without this constant contemplation of His sufferings. At each Station, she sat down and renewed the mystery of its significance in her heart, praising the Lord for His love with tears of compassion

In popular devotion, the Stations of the Cross consist of a series of pictures or crosses hung on the walls of Catholic churches. They depict events along the road to Calvary, from the death sentence of Jesus to His burial. Some churches today include a final scene: The Resurrection.

The purpose of the Stations of the Cross is to remind us of the effects of sin and the salvation won for us through the suffering, death and resurrection of Jesus. As we meditate on the Stations, we are moved to renounce sin and to accept Jesus as our Savior.




An Act of Contrition

O Jesus Christ, my Lord, with what great love Thou didst pass over this painful road, which lead Thee to death; and I, how often I have abandoned Thee! But now I love Thee with my whole soul, and because I love Thee, I am sincerely sorry for having offended Thee. My Jesus, pardon me, and permit me to accompany Thee in this Thy sorrowful journey.

Via Dolorosa (Road of Sorrows)
Via Crucis (Way of the Cross)


The road followed by Jesus on the day of His death began at the Antonia fortress
and ended on Calvary (Golgatha)
JSC-map-m.jpg (19464 bytes) yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station I - Jesus is Condemned to Death (Praetorium)
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station II - Jesus Bears His Cross
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station III - Jesus Falls the First Time
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station IV - Jesus Meets His Holy Mother
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station V - Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station VI - Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station VII - Jesus Falls a Second Time
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station VIII - Jesus Comforts the Women of Jerusalem
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station IX - Jesus Falls a Third Time
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station X - Jesus is Stripped of His Garments *
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station XI - Jesus is Nailed to the Cross *
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station XII - Jesus Dies on the Cross *
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station XIII - Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross *
yellowdot.gif (100 bytes) Station XIV- Jesus is Laid in the Tomb *

* Stations X thru XIV are located inside the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.


Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross for Children